Tarot – Witch of The Black Rose #1

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Mar 1999 | Broadsword Comics

Writing: Jim Balent
Art: Jim Balent
Colour: Holly Golightly
Letters: Holly Golightly

When I started clearing up that same comic mess that unearthed the He-Man mini comic recently reviewed, I also found the first half of my Tarot collection. I’m not sure the reasons I’d want to re-read this, but the urge struck and I did.

Looking at the cover you can probably see what drove me to purchase it to begin with. The interior art is just as, provocative and has a lot of over-the-top elements I typically despise in comics these days.

The writing is very good most of the time, but at points it’s laughably stupid reading like some horrible adult novel. The image of Tarot scantily clad in her battle armor is also another "stupid" moment. It’s no wonder that I’ve stopped reading it and collect it merely for the eye-candy. Though, who knows? Maybe in re-reading this I’ll actually catch up.

Now would probably be a good time to say a few words regarding the story. If you hadn’t guessed by the title, it’s all about witchcraft. Tarot is a Witch of The Black Rose, a coven tasked with guarding the two books of witchcraft in order to avoid another witch-burning massacre. Of course, another member of the coven runs off with it on a diabolical quest of vengeance to those fallen, and this girl happens to be Tarot’s sister.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tarot
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 11:55:08

    Very very Nice site. Hello and congratulations from Spain

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

