Battle of The Planets Witchblade

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Feb 2003 | Top Cow Productions

Writing: Munier Shariff
Pencils: Christian Chen | Jo Chen
Ink: Alan “Dragon” Tam
Colour: Udon Studio’s Shane Law | Arnold Tsang | Andrew Hou | Omar Dogan | Ken Siu-Chong | Calvin Lo | Erikk Ko
Letters: Dreamer Design’s Martin Banes | Dennis Heisler

When I hear Battle of The Planets Witchblade, the first thing that pops into my mind are visions of horrible fanfics with ridiculous couples and the worst writing ever to grace the darkest corners of the internet. I’m not saying all fan fiction is bad, just that the diamonds are much harder to find amidst all that dirty coal.

I couldn’t tell you what compelled me to purchase this book. I don’t even remember a rough time period or what else I may have walked out with besides this book. I can only guess it had something to do with my Witchblade obsession, but that pretty much lasted only one volume and a few issues of the Tales series. I’m really leaning towards it being buried in my subscription box. I had subscribed to several of those cartoon revival comics that came out those years ago. Battle of The Planets was one of them. I probably had no idea until getting home.

I really didn’t expect much of this. I could pretty much guess how it would go, but having re-read it, i find it’s actually enjoyable. Despite the predictability, there’s something nostalgic I feel about this book. I think it’s a combination of it being loved cartoon characters and the way this story is presented that reminds me of my youth that also grants me the ability to forgive what I’d otherwise flip out about.

The fact Prin gets the Witchblade is of no surprise. We knew that up front. The other obvious element deals with the old woman telling the story. We’ve seen things begin like this countless times, and they always end the same way. There’s no surprise, no warm fuzzies, we knew it from the start. Without the mysterious nostalgia I feel towards this story, I’d threaten the next book I read that fits into this over-done formula would have a taste of turpentine followed by a bout with the fiery tempered Mr. Match that would be celebrating his flawless victory after a few seconds.

The art is quite pleasing to me. A more modernized American animation style that still captures the image and feeling of the old BOTP. With the amount of people who worked on it I’d be severely disappointed, otherwise.

In terms of writing, it’s pretty good. The mesh of pure storytelling narration with the reenactment works well. The story also builds quite nicely, but it feels a little choppy at times, but it’s understandable, since this pretty much amounts to a bedtime story. I really enjoyed reading this odd crossover, but it’s far from highly rated. Just another slice of mediocrity that happens to actually entertain, but for fans only.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

