Tarot Witch of The Black Rose #2

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

May 2000 | Broadsword Comics

Creator: Jim Balant
Artist: Jim Balant
Colour: Jim Balant | Holly Golightly
Letters: Holly Golightly

After a pumpkin monster made off with the little girl’s body, Tarot took the graveyard guardian to her spell room to heal his poisoned wounds. While resting, he has a romantic dream involving Tarot that ends with a warning and screams as he awakens.

When he finds Tarot drying from a bath, she makes him hot chocolate and weaves the tale of her family’s history, her sister Raven’s descent to evil, and her desire to resurrect her father and see a world ruled by witches. And she must be stopped before Halloween, tomorrow.

And the fan service continues in this issue with more nudity and the ladies’ gargantuan boobs. Really not something I like and the only problem I have with the art. They really look inflated to me.

This issue was mostly background. Knowing how and why Raven strayed from the path is something we need to know and it’s interesting. We also hear how Jon’s near death experience granted him the ability to see and communicate with the dead, which I suppose is useful. We now know who the dead goth chick was in the cemetery, but it wasn’t very interesting to read and I don’t really care much about that guy.

The writing hasn’t improved any. The exposition is just as cheesy as before and it’s very hard for me to believe I have so much of this series. I shall press on only to get my money’s worth. I’m not hoping for any miracles, though.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

