G.I. Joe Cobra #2

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Apr 2009 | IDW

Writing: Mike Costa | Christos N. Gage
Art: Antonio Fuso
Colour: Chris Chuckry
Letters: Robbie Robbins

Chuckles is isn’t doing too much for Cobra, just a wheelman and goon. He moves up the ladder when his predecessor gets tested and killed. He’s given a new task that’s not exactly a bank heist, but quite the opposite – destroy the money. His greatest weakness of women is also exploited when he meets a woman that will more than likely cause trouble in the future.

Still not too fond of the art. I’ve gotten used to the writing, and if I tell myself I’m not reading a GI Joe comic, I can almost like it. But this isn’t another comic. This is GI Joe, well, it’s supposed to be anyway.

I’m not impressed. Rather than re-iterate everything I hated about the first issue, just go back an re-read it if you haven’t. All those complaints still stand.

Unfortunately, my masochistic curiosity still wants to know what’s going to happen. This is so unfair. I used to have willpower with this sort of thing, but it looks like I’ll end up reading the next issue.

I think I need an intervention.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garrett
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 17:33:11

    Guu,

    You just need to accept that not all G.I. Joe is good. In fact, if you primarily like the Sunbow series, you pretty much have to accept that all Joe media *except* the Sunbow series isn’t going to meet your expectations. At the risk of sounding crass, fandom has glommed onto the view of the original comic because it not only was grittier, but because Larry Hama has had no real career outside of G.I. Joe, so he’s been more willing and able to embrace the Joe fans. (Sure, the writers, the artists at Marvel Productions, and the voice actors have all spoken with fondness about the Sunbow show, but they’ve all got careers beyond those Sunbow days. Hama has The ‘Nam and Wolverine past Joe, the former of which is hardly remembered, and the latter is where he is but one of a number of writers for the character.) Until Hasbro and G.I. Joe fans in general get over the comedic aspects of the Sunbow series, as well as the fantasy/sci-fi gloss (the lasers, Serpentor, the space & supernatural-themed episodes, the parachute/no-death thing that was mandated by Hasbro after MASS) and starts to really appreciate the intelligence contained therein, it’s just not worth it to support something other than Sunbow-accurate toys and the DVDs of the show itself.

  2. guuthulhu
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 19:06:49

    Yeah, I know. It’s just hard and the Taurus in me tends to lend itself to stubborn disappointment and my masochistic curiosity.

  3. Garrett
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 21:06:12

    So your Taurus is a Cobra agent? 😉

  4. guuthulhu
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 21:33:50

    Ha Ha Ha! o.O Things are now making a strange sort of sense… My neighbor is a redheaded lady named scarlet, she drives a hummer, and I’ve seen her a few times at the archery range.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

