1001 Arabian Nights The Adventures of Sinbad #4

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Nov 2008 | Zenescope

Writing: Dan Wickline
Art: Ron Adrian
Colour: Kieran Oats | Zac Atkinson
Letters: Crank!

After defeating the dragon, Sinbad and his crew head towards the temple of Kabrit Amud at the base of a volcano at center of Ka’tan island and must battle it’s fire demon guardians. Once the amulet is retrieved, it triggers the revival of Kabrit Amud himself.

Back on Ma’rut, Samelia’s must use her magic wisely and avoid getting killed by Queen Alorana’s manticore pet, then the catfight begins, complete with gratuitous shredded clothing.

I’m very happy at the moment. I’m actually starting to like this series. It’s still nothing to rave about quite yet, but it is improving and that’s what counts. I’m still having trouble with art, but I’m starting to get used to the idea that I’m just going to have to deal with it.

It’s the writing and story that are improving. The wit I expect from Sinbad is seeping in more and more, and his adventurous side is also starting to come to the forefront. The presence of these two criteria is all I’ve ever asked of this series and all I’ve ever hoped for, so it’s a pretty big deal to me that my wish is starting to come true.

You’re cute and all, but I’m saving myself for a woman who isn’t trying to kill me…

Oh Sinbad, how I love that arrogant wit of yours. If you were a woman, I’d be totally all over you.

The idea that he’s questing for an item made up of pieces seems like a long quest, but we’ve been moving a long at a good pace devoid of the unnecessary boring lulls of dialogue or exposition thrown in just to stretch things out. I’m also likely the gradual introduction of the humour. It would have been odd if it was just suddenly thrown in there, regardless of how much I wouldn’t have cared, I’m just glad it’s finally happening.

This reminds me of a good childhood cartoon, like Conan or Exosquad, that had an ongoing story, well enough writing, and a nice blend of humour to still appeal to kids. Only it’s been recreated to appeal to the older audience that remembers these cartoons.

Oh Wilhelm…

You want me to cross the molten river, through the raining lava and retrieve the amulet off the statue?

If you wouldn’t mind.

I’m looking forward to reading the next issue. Hopefully this trend continues and this becomes a series worthy of Sinbad.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

