1001 Arabian Nights The Adventures of Sinbad #5

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Nov 2008 | Zenescope

Writing: Dan Wickline
Art: Eduardo Ferigato
Colour: Zac Atkinson
Letters: Crank!

Kabrit Amud is freed from his imprisonment and he’s pretty angry which leads to a big fight. While the rest of the crew head back to the ship, Sinbad stays behind with the strong man and explains why he searches for the Jericho visor.

Back on the other island, the girl had been bound and captured by the Queen and promised a slow and painful death. Luckily, the cook comes to the girl’s rescue just in time and also find the other half of the Sunfury Amulet.

It took five issues, but I now officially like this series. I will likely never stop complaining about the art, and despite that, I can see still the action playing out in my mind just like a cartoon, probably from my mind making the association. If there were action figures, I’d probably greatly considering acquiring a couple.

I’m not going to say this is the greatest comic in the world, but it has found it’s hold on me by appealing to my inner child that would spend every morning watching my favorite cartoons, making dioramas on my book shelves of epic battles of the He-Man and She-Ra universe where Voltron has lended a hand as well as Gamera.

I almost feel a fan-fic coming on, but I’d much rather write something original less likely to draw the attention of lawyers and might stand some chance of generating revenue to whoever manages to get it published long after I’m dead. That, and the whole idea of a fan-fic just sends me chills like the horrible perverted fantasy’s the tend to degenerate into.

Anyhow, I’m really liking the character development. I still don’t have the character names down, but I’m definitely starting to see their personalities and see some of them evolving. I’m starting to get attached to a few of them. Wilhelm the cursed man, and Mahdu, Queen Alorana’s best warrior. I love how the two of them, who had fought viciously against each other previously, are now growing closer. I really hope she ends up joining the crew, but we’ll just have to see.

I also love the cook with the two word vocabulary of “no” and “yes.” I want to have a chibi plushy of him that I could just hug and carry around with me that also has one of those speaker’s inside. Squeezing one hand would make him say “yes” while the other would say “no.”

This series is bringing out the obsessive nerd in me. Can’t wait for more. I wonder what other strange things I’ll ramble about.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

