A Dummy’s Guide to Danger #1

Jul 2006 | Viper Comics

Writing: Jason M. Burns
Art: Ron Chan
Letters: Greg Gatlin

I guess I deserved it when I asked my comic man for something weird the last time I hit up my LCS. I don’t ask for recommendations often, but the rare times I have, he hasn’t steered me wrong. I was in an odd mood that day and it wasn’t that I was really seeking a recommendation as I was putting him to the test.

“How about a mystery.” He said and pulled four issues, placing them in my uncertain hands. “A Dummy’s Guide to Danger” I read and glanced over the covers that had this detective pulp style to them that intrigued me along with the other text gracing the cover.

Murder!
Intrigue!
Ventriloquist puppets!

I knew I wasn’t going to get anymore out of him. I simply had to put my faith in him once more and just bite the bullet. And now, I just don’t understand how I could have missed it to begin with. This has got to be one of the most unique mysteries I have ever read, and I’m mostly addressing the main character(s) and their very concept.

Alan Sirois is a private eye with a very special partner, Mr. Bloomberg. Mr. Bloomberg is actually a dummy. I’m not talking as in stupid. I mean in the ventriloquist puppet sense. He is a dummy and Alan actually believes he’s paraplegic from suffering a bullet to the spine. He is by no means aware that Mr. Bloomberg is a doll.

Together, the two of them solve mysteries and this latest one involves a murderer known as the Flesh Collector.

It’s the first few pages that sealed the deal. A young, obese man is being roughed up and interrogated regarding a little girl. As the scene reaches it’s climax, we see a nicely dressed dummy sitting on a high stool and we realise who’s been doing the talking all this time. It sent shivers down my spine. I thought to myself, “how wonderful! This private dick is completely nuts.” I also began wondering what other wonderful issues lurk in his psyche and how long it would take to find out.

The art is special in it’s un-special way. Something about it, especially how Mr. Bloomberg is drawn, really creeps me the Hell out. I don’t think I’d like it outside of this comic, but this is really working out well with this story.

The next scene that stood out was the conversation about the wheelchair between Alan and his partner. You get a real sense of just how messed up that guy is and how convinced he is of that dummy being real. It’s a doll. They don’t look real at all, they’re really creepy (Dead Silence really messed me up and thanks to that I hate all dummies and antiquated looking dolls), not to mention lack of all the fleshy bits and internals. He doesn’t even move his mouth when he talks, but this guy is still totally convinced he’s a real person and it’s captured so well with words.

Even when all Hell breaks loose and he’s arguing with his partner, it’s just so magical in a messed up sort of way. Not to mention the scene where he’s at dinner and actually calls his partner. My mind has troubles sometimes fathoming the extent of his madness and It’s so good. This is such an entertaining read.

This is showing some serious potential to make the spotlight list if the writing quality keeps up and the story delivers.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. _joey_
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 14:07:41

    This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

