1001 Arabian Nights The Adventures of Sinbad #6

Dec 2008 | Zenescope

Writing: Dan Wickline
Art: Rod Pereira | Alexandre Benhossi
Colour: Zac Atkinson
Letters: Crank!

In this issue we’ve got the showdown between Sinbad and the Wizard, Pots and Sam escape the Queen’s room, and the Sunfury amulet becomes whole marking the end of Sinbad and the Eyes of Fire.

As the issues pass I’ve warmed up quite a bit to the series and it’s become a read I look forward to. Thumbing through this issue, I noticed another artist change. I had pretty much steeled myself against seeing the same stuff that gets under my skin, and now it’s quite noticeable different. The character more-or-less look the same, but there’s inconsistencies between frames. I’d much rather deal with the old than the new, but I have a feeling this won’t last too long anyway.

There’s a scene where Pots, I finally remembered his name, and Sam are trapped in the Queen’s room.  They decide to lug the chest they shoved her in with them. Is it just me, or does that chest seem too small to have a big busted woman stuffed inside?

At least the story is still appealing along with the writing. This issue was mostly on the serious side so there wasn’t too much lighthearted wit. I still very much enjoyed it, and funny as it sounds coming from me, I preferred the old art. It needs to come back. In any case, I shall still await the next issue, but a little less warmly than I have been.

On a side note, there’s a page advertising a Grimm Fairy Tales and 1001 Arabian Nights Crossover. Hrmm. I have mixed feelings.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

