A Dummy’s Guide to Danger #2

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Aug 2006 | Viper Comics

Writing: Jason M. Burns
Art: Ron Chan
Letters: Greg Gatlin

Last issue, a headless corpse of a famous actress wound up driving through the wall of their office.

Now the body of a platinum selling pop idol is pinned to a wall in her house and the killer’s gunning for him.

I don’t know how many times I’ve seen the detective-arrives-at-crime-scene-before-police-and-becomes-instant-suspect routine. It’s way old, and I’m sick of it. I’m sick of big bad police department ego vs. the hero’s ego. I’m equally sick of the battles of wit the confrontations spawn. They make my blood boil at how stupid both sides are behaving and how easily the entire conflict could be avoided and we can move on. Sure, I suppose it makes for a great story, the first few times. It’s so overplayed, you can’t read the suit of the card anymore.

It’s this reason I really hated this issue. I can’t say for sure I know what’s going to happen, but I’m already starting to feel the disappointment set in from using such an overdone hook. If not for Mr. Bloomberg and our crazy PI, I’d abandon this without a second thought.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

