Dog Eaters #1

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Nov 2008 | Dabel Brothers

Writing: Malcolm Wong
Art: Guillermo A. Angel
Colour: Ruben de Vela | Michael Bartolo
Letters: Bill Tortolini

The petroleum age passed and most people died. 175 years into the future, ma exists only in small tribes roaming the wastelands. The Black Dog Clan is one such tribe and they are ambushed by Snake Clan.

I have mixed feelings about this book. The art is pretty most of the time, but some parts of it seem awkward, though I can’t really put my finger on it.

The writing isn’t too bad either, but so much stuff happens after the ambush, I’m left a little confused especially regarding the relationships and tribal culture. A lot of characters get introduced and it’s a bit chaotic. There’s also a moe character, so I’m worried how this will go. I really hate everything moe.

I really want to like this. The setting interests me having a post-apocalyptic flair, but this is starting to look like some videogame based comic. A ton of characters are introduced, your thrown into the thick of it, and you can’t help but feel like you’ve missed something fans will scoff at you for.

I just don’t know.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blackdogclan
    May 12, 2009 @ 07:42:07

    There are 5 more issues in this mini-series. Issue #2 is out, production on the art for Issue #3 is complete. Lettering is next and then it’s off to the printers. Anticipate shipping in mid-June.

    If you stick with it, I think you’ll be rewarded.

    Best,

    Malcolm

  2. guuthulhu
    May 12, 2009 @ 10:55:23

    I will take a chance and keep going, then. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

