The Wind Raider #1

Image and video hosting by TinyPic2008 | Ape Entertainment

Creator & Writing: Richard Finney | Dean Loftis
Art: Gabriel Hardman
Colour: Micah Farritor
Letters: David Hedgecock
Cover: Tim Kelly | Gabriel Hardman

A poor farmer heads into the city for supplies. His son Joshua managed to strike it rich with a genuine piece of sky rock. The happiness is short lived when some marauders threaten to take it all away.

I love how Joshua works so hard trying to help his family looking for sky rock and his family think him useless. You can see the disappointment on their faces. And when his work finally pays off, everything changes and they’re proud and happy. How disgustingly predictable. I’ve always hated relationships depicted in this manner. It’s almost disappointing, but it’s a necessary plot device and I’ve enjoyed everything else about this book. I would have hoped for something a little less Mad Max, though.

The art is still a high point for me as well as the setting. I wouldn’t mind having my own sailed buggy. I’d really like to see how it’d look in life. I could really see this moving into a film or animated medium.

Two issues left and I hope this next one includes some more background material.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

