Batman Confidential #2

Batman Confidential #2

Mar 2007 | DC

Writing: Andy Diggle
Pencils: Whilce Portacio
Ink: Richard Friend
Colour: I.L.L.
Letters: Travis Lanham

Rules of Engagement. Part Two

The haywire Wayntech O.G.R.E attcks Lex Luthor leaving Batman with a mystery of why it went haywire and why Lex Luthor.

When I saw the cover of this issue, I wanted to ask a few friends of mine what was wrong with the cover. Batman looks so awkward. I stared at it for a long time wondering if the art would start distracting me from the story. Fortunately, that wasn’t the case. I’ve dealt with art I didn’t particularly like before, I just mostly ignore it. I couldn’t ignore how funky the Batmobile looked at the end of the issue. Holy crap!

Well, the crazy robot caused some destruction. Batman had troubles dealing with it and I could almost hear the continual frustration about his failures while reading his exposition. I’m still fairely hooked on this. The mystery elements made me think a lot and try and guess the connection to Lex Luthor and also guessing what villain(s) could be involved. Of course, by the end of the issue the villain was revealed. I hoped for something a bit less obvious, though. I wanted something more exciting. I did feel a bit sheepish when I didn’t realize the deal with the O.G.R.E. robot going haywire. Well, stupid, really.

At any rate, I will at least see this story through. If I still feel pretty good about it, I’ll keep going.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

