Hotwire #3

Hotwire #3 Cover

Cover

Mar 2009 | Radical Comics

Creator: Steve Pugh | Warren Ellis
Story: Warren Ellis
Writer: Steve Pugh
Illustrator: Steve Pugh
Letters: Steve Pugh

Deep Blue

The riot continues and Hotwire has traced everything back to the cemetery, a sort of prison for the undead to keep them from invading. The blue lights have planned a jail break and Hotwire and her team must stop it.

More beautiful art and odd undead to look at; my favorite part of this book apart from the lovely Hotwire herself and all the cool ghostpunk tech that continues to be believable to me. More importantly, the story just keeps getting better.

The climax hits the book as hotwire discovers what’s really going on at the cemetery and it’s a terrible scenario to be faced with. The place is creepy and there are a lot of interesting killer blue lights down there and I love their designs, especially the one with all the razors caught in it’s magnetic field. That’s awesome and scary.

I always have worries with short story arcs of the pacing and not wrapping up well. The issue moves really fast, but doesn’t feel rushed even though there’s but one issue remaining. The events flowed really nicely together and I’m fairly confident things will wrap up nicely in the next issue, so I think I’m going to be okay. I know I had worries of other things regarding this book in the past and they turned out all right.

Hotwire is a great character and she continues to punch throughout the issue and handles herself well with the scenario. She has great personality and I love her sense of humour. It comes across well and fits the character.

You’ve got a way out, right?!

I have a map and I’m extremely motivated.

I’m looking forward to the conclusion of the story, though I will miss Hotwire and the world she lives.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

