Archie #601

Archie 601

Cover

Nov 2009 | Archie Comics

Script: Michael Uslan
Pencils: Stan Goldberg
Ink: Bob Smith
Letters: Jack Morelli
Colours: Glenn Whitmore

Archie Marries Veronica Part 2: The Wedding

The wedding day is finally here. Archie and Veronica finally get married then it jumps a year later. Archie is working hard for Mr. Lodge and Veronica has exciting news… She’s pregnant!

This issue moved as quickly as the previous, going through the entire wedding chaos. I think I’ve warmed up to it, though, or at least gotten used to the style of it. I enjoyed it more; I actually felt a few pangs of sadness, there was this finality to it like I was reading one of the last issues of this series. I still feel a little of that as I sit here writing this and I still feel sorry for Betty. I didn’t expect the story to jump a year ahead with him working and Veronica pregnant. That caught me a little off-guard, but I suppose if we’re going to progress down this interesting “what if Archie married Veronica” tale, we might as well get the full picture.

I still find it hard to believe I’m reading a wedding story. The concept still remains one of those things I never would have expected to ever see in my lifetime. To be honest, I am still amazed the Archie comics are still continuing. However, from my reactions to this book, I wonder if I will feel for Veronica how I feel for Betty when I read the other story. I suppose I shall learn soon enough. As for the baby? I am going to guess it’s a girl.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

