Thoughts of The Day 5.2.2011

Well, I have managed to get through a fair amount of books this morning. I have mulled several of them over in my head, and I just don’t have enough to say about either of them for me to do a separate review for all of them. At least, not at this time. Rather than say nothing and keep going, I decided to go ahead and throw up some thoughts on them.

Rotten #1 | Moonstone – 2009

I had seen the cover of this, the one with the barmaid, and wondered what the hell was up with it. I couldn’t quite guess where the title came into play and knew absolutely nothing about, so I went on a limb and decided to give it a go. An old West tale involving zombies, mystery, and plenty of action to slake my thirst for all good things zombie. It certainly left me curious and wanting more, so I shall have to catch up.

Avengers Academy #12 | Marvel – 2011

This series has continued to entertain me since the first issue. The team is a good mix of characters, and I love my favorites (Hazmat, Finesse, and Mettle). This issue had an unusual story, or rather way of dealing with it. Their consciousness’ ended up being inserted into their adult bodies plucked from various locations in the time stream. The logic was they needed to be more powerful, but it caused some angst as some of the team had issues with the states of their future selves. There was also a touching scene involving Hazmat and Mettle that made me tear up. I don’t normally get excited about super-hero comics, unless we’re talking Incorruptible, Irredeemable, and a few others that have really broken out-of-the-box in my opinion. This one makes me want more of the typical sort, in a sort of nostalgia. It’s hard for me to explain. I really like this book, ’nuff said.

Verotika #1 | Verotik – 1994

Ah, when Grant Morrison wrote adult stories. And he wrote well. This issue had two stories in it. The second one I enjoyed the most. It was more creative than the usual demonic tales that seem to frequent adult comics. The second story dealt with a braille encyclopedia of hours that actually was made up of the scarred flesh of those worthy enough of carrying it. Each person was an entry, with the leader of the strange cult, containing the index. It was rather good. This is definitely not one for the kiddies, considering the graphic nudity, gore, and explicit sex.

Iron Man 2.0 #4 | Marvel – 2011

I had weird notions about this book. I’m really surprised when i had started in on the series, not being an Iron Man fan. Curiosity did win me over and I had been reading it. The issues have been entertaining enough to keep me wanting to know what the next installment held, and I’ve found myself enjoying it well enough to keep on reading. This issue made me finally understand the reason of the 2.0 title. The Warmachine suit is retired, from what I can tell, and Stark replaces it with a new suit -an Iron Man 2.0 suit. It’s actually rather sexy. I like it’s abilities and I’m curious to see it in action. The other stuff, the transcripts, was interesting, but sorta bored me. I also was confused by the variant Loki cover. I’ve been reading Fear Itself, and it seems the next issue might be a tie-in. I’ll look forward to it, either way. This series has been a nice break from my usual.

The Strange Case of Mr. Hyde #1 | Dark Horse – 2011

Here is another shot-in-the-dark that proved to deliver. It has been many a year since I read The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and I remembered that I had enjoyed it. This book takes place in London, where there are a string of murders being committed by a man who seems to posess superhuman characteristic. In a Silence of the Lambs manner, Inspector Adye must consult Dr. Jekyll, who has been secretly imprisoned below Scotland Yard, for insight on catching his killer. It was a rather enjoyable read.

The Clock Maker #3-4 | Image – 2003

This series is interesting, with a giant underground clock that keeps the world turning and also can open the doorway to Heaven. The girl who inherited the task of keeping the clock, wants nothing to do with it, but there seems to be something more to the clock than what everyone ha said. Unfortunately, I won’t learn what that is unless I can find Act Two. How sad.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

