Adolescent Radioactive Black Belt Hamsters #1

CoverJan 1986 | Eclipse

Writing: Don Chin
Art: Chris Parsonavich
Letters: Chris Parsonavich
Cover: Chris Parsonavich

A team of four hamsters are set into space to detonate an asteroid, their radioactive selves fall into Tibet where they are trained in martial arts. Training complete, they fly to San Fransisco to deliver a package and must deal with a very strange terrorist group known as the PLO (Pot Luck Organisation).

I don’t even know what to say about it. It certainly isn’t my cup of tea and I didn’t like it at all. I generally don’t like gag parodies like this, but morbid curiosity always prefers to torture me when it can. It also happened to have been lurking in a mystery grab bag of surplus on-the-cheap.

I disliked the art style. I had problems deciphering what some panels were, and it really didn’t appeal to me overall.

Story-wise, it had a couple moments in the beginning which made me snicker, but then it started to feel way to forced and my interest and desire to continue kept getting sapped each panel I read. The conflict is resolved, but the package remains unresolved. I don’t know if there’s more, considering the stated end, and frankly, I don’t care. It’s not my thing, but if you like parodies and silly gag stuff, you probably will. Dynamite has a newer series (2008) of this you might want to try.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

