Dracula #1

Cover

Aug 2010 | Marvel

Pencils: Dick Giordano
Colour: June Chung
Writing: Roy Thomas
Letters: Joe Rosen
Cover: Jelena Kevic Djurdjevic

Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to conduct business with Count Dracula and only to soon learn what his real plans are.

This four-issue mini is an adaptation of Bram Stoker’s Dracula and a colourised reprint from the story that appeared in four issues of a black and white book from the seventies called Dracula Lives! I am unaware if there were any other reprints.

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen Bram Stoker’s Dracula and even longer since I’ve read the book, but reading this first issue it did seem to ring true to me. It seemed right. It at least has the same flavour in the style of writing and the presentation and use of exposition I found to be quite engrossing as I got further in. It’s certainly rekindled my desire to reread the novel as well as several other horror classics.

I suspected this was an old story by how the interior art looked. It just had a certain style to it that you don’t really see today, not to mention tons of exposition. It seems a lot of older books had a lot more words, but that could easily just be an observation of my own collection. I rather liked it over redone art or even a modern retelling. It’s a classic story, so reprinting from a classic comic touted to be a faithful adaptation of the book is more than I’d have ever hoped for, really. There’s something to be said about the classic stories of earlier ages. While true not all can stand the test of time and be as enjoyable now as they were in their time, I feel this one does and I can’t wait to read the rest of them. It boggles my mind why it’s taken me this long when they’ve been in my collection for so long.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

