Gantz vol. 1

CoverJun 2008 | Dark Horse

By: Oku Hiroya

Kei and Masaru were once childhood friends, but their lives went separate ways. Reunited at a subway station, their lives reconnect trying to save a drunk who fell onto the tracks. Killed by the train, they find themselves in a room with others who’ve recently died.

This is how I like my manga- dark, graphic and violent. If it has an interesting and compelling story, I consider myself lucky. I didn’t know what to expect reading this. When Kei and Masaru’s heads flew off so early in the book, I smiled and wondered where things were going. The room with stuff they couldn’t manipulate, the weird message in the ball, let’s not forget the weird person inside the thing, and the weird killing game; the onions were particularly vile creatures, disgusting, awful things; I really liked it. I want to know how they even still exist. They died, but all the evidence disappeared and they have weird stuff in their brains. I gotta know.

The detail of the gore in this volume is clean and crisp. It’s not that messy sketchy stuff where you aren’t entirely sure what you’re looking at all the time unless certain easily identifiable parts are included. With the compelling story, it’s almost too good to be true and I’m really looking forward to the next volume while hoping it doesn’t flake out on me into typical bubbly stupid crap. It’s what usually happens and why I don’t bother with any of it. I will keep my fingers crossed, but won’t hold my breath. I’ve been disappointed too many times in the past.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

