Vampirella #1 – Crown of Worms Part 1

CoverWriting: Eric Trautmann | Jeph Loeb
Art: Tim Sale | Wagner Reis
Letters: Wes Abbott | Richard Starkings
Cover: Alex Ross | J. Scott Campbell | Fabiano Neves | Jelena Kevic Djurdjevic | Joe Madureira

Red Right Hand

Vampirella is in seattle tracking down her nemesis, Vlad. Her tracking brings her to a bite club where his “favourite” girl hangs out.

When Dynamite brought back Vampirella, I was all over it. My exposure to her had been somewhat limited in the past with scattered random issues, all of which I treasured. I liked seeing a female vampire starring in a book and I always loved those pin-up covers. It’s just a shame I only started reading her now after continuously collecting the issues.

I enjoyed this one. I didn’t know what to expect reading it. My hopes were on something dark, satisfying, and not full of old cliches. It does feel a bit like an older comic, but in good ways, warm familiar ways. While not dark, dark, and more netwrok tv friendly dark, it still satisfied. The violence satisfied and plenty of blood. I liked Le Fanu and her weird mouth-hand-tentacle-creature-thing she has going on and can’t wait to see what she does with it.

On the downside, I didn’t care too much for the reprint at the end. If I wanted to read classic Vampirella, i’d pick up some trades, so I don’t like that bit of wasted space. I’d rather have the entire book devoted to new content.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

