Dracula #4

CoverSep 2010 | Marvel

Pencils: Dick Giordano
Colour: June Chung
Writing: Roy Thomas
Letters: Rus Wooton
Cover: Jelena Kevic Djurdjevic

The hunt for Dracula continues and concludes in this final issue!

We know how the story ends, at least most of do. We have either read the book or watched the movie adaptation, an honestly, I found myself bored for this very reason. I knew how it ended and it just had too much exposition for me to really care. It felt like things drug on because so much time was wasted on all those words that were difficult to read- thin-coloured cursive without enough contrast with the background colour of their bubbles. It bothered my eyes which started to ache and made me grumpy, so that lessened my enjoyment even more. Very sad, but such is the way of things.

I’ll still stand my previous words; it is a well done, carefully crafted adaptation that does the novel justice. Were I in the mood to read such a thing, my lethargy and impatience with it wouldn’t have occurred. I just couldn’t find myself in that place despite my desire to finish it.

That said, knowing this limited series is the first collection of the chapters that were originally printed in Dracula Lives; I’m curious to read those and see what else Dracula has been up to in the past. I do enjoy older horror comics.

Leave a comment

Follow me on Twitter