Proof: The Company of Men

Cover2009 | Image

Writing: Alexander Grecian
Art: Riley Rossmo
Colour: Fiona Staples | Adam Guzowski
Letters: Alexander Grecian

Collects issues 6-9.

Ginger, Elvis, and Proof set off to Africa to rescue a dinosaur targeted by big game hunters. Unfortunately, it was all a trap to capture Proof and serve him up as dinner at a banquet.

After reading the first trade, I imediately set into the second. It took me a bit of time to get through, mostly having other things vying for space on my proverbial entertainment platter, but it was a nice savoury piece of betrayal, drama, and satisfying conclusions. I never suspected anyone at the lodge of being a traitor. Not so soon into things, and it just came out of nowhere. Nicely done.

What they did with the Colonel at the end of that mess I found to be quite satisfying. Will he be causing more trouble in the future? Probably. I don’t see why he wouldn’t and he seems bent on escape. I suppose we shall see.

I’m not sure how I feel about Elvis cutting his hair and getting that makeover. It doesn’t look like him at all. I’ll agree it is good to make a good first impression, but he’s already met Ginger and if you’re gonna dress nice and stuff, you want to at least still be true to yourself, right? I liked his weird style.

Oh well.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

